Tags

, , , , , , ,

For those of you who don’t remember the excellent Mr Adams attitude towards deadlines he said this…

I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.

It seems quite apt to bring it up after my last post about the how much work I had to get in this weekend. Well, it got done eventually and now one has cancelled my services so no harm done I guess. I’m pretty good at finding other things to do when I am meant to be working and one of the problems with working for yourself is that there is no-one looking over your shoulder or moaning when your work rate drops. I’m also very good at justifying such descriptions especially if they involved being in the pub or watching bands…or networking opportunities and valuable product research as I call them.

Talking of product knowledge, I was lucky enough to stumble across the first four books in George R.R. Martins Song of Fire and Ice series…or in TV terms Game of Thrones. I keep seeing snippets of the TV show but don’t really want to indulge in the purchase of a box set until I have read the books. Old school? I know it will be exactly my type of book, I grew up on fantasy and after years of trudging my way through more seemingly worthy authors, Chekov, Kerouac, Austin, Genet and the like, I have returned to my first literary love. And as I say it is all research of a sort, you can’t be a good writer without reading widely. There I go again, justifying distractions and unnecessary expenditure, but as they were going for £1.99 each in a charity shop, I don’t think it will kick too much of a hole in the weekly allowance.

