Tags

, , , , ,

bloggingThis musing turned blog entry follows on from something I dwelt on slightly in this entry about where your words can end up being read in this ever shrinking world. It that scribbled train of thought I was humbled to find my blog being read by people in the USA due to the nature of the post, that a friend of mine had played the SXSW Festival in Austin Texas. I guess it is not a massive surprise to find that search engines had delivered up my post to people who cover the music and arts scene in that part of the world. But a few days later I noticed that I had a few hits in other places, some logical and some more unexpected, Argentina for example. It then made me think a bit about the nature of blogging. I suppose that with the millions of blogs that have been written in the internet age or by Generation X-Box as I call them, that your words are going to be picked up in far flung places without any effort or control by the author. But is this necessarily a good thing. Just because someone can do something does it mean that they should.

Let me explain. As a journalist and a musician I work in areas that have moved in the last few decades from being a calling, a skill, a career even to something that everyone can mimic. Anyone with a computer and a free WordPress page can call themselves a writer, journalist, blogger laureate or anything they like but if the posts consist of merely saying everything is rubbish or posting amusing pictures of cats that look like Hitler then is it really adding anything to the collective literary body. You could argue that even this blog has little to say and that everyone is entitled to put pen to paper..or finger to keyboard. Possibly true.

Famous authors didn’t achieve their status through the accessibility of their work but through its quality and then often many years after their death. The only book I can think of that owes it’s success to blogging (more specifically fan fiction sites) is 50 Shades of Grey, possibly one of the worst books I have ever read by an author who seems to use language like a Rubiks Cube.

The world is indeed getting smaller, communication getting easier and faster and to more remote places, which in a lot of areas of modern life is a good thing obviously. If it means that yet another 13 year old school girl in New Zealand sets up a blog about how unfair school is then maybe modern technology has become the victim of its own success.

 

